2021-2022 Undergraduate Catalog 
    Dec 01, 2023  
2021-2022 Undergraduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Political Science, Law, Interdisciplinary Option, B.A.

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Undergraduate Academic Departments and Programs

Requirements for the Political Science Major - 39 Credits

Political scientists think critically and analytically and apply a broad understanding of the nature of politics to the important questions of our time. A major in Political Science prepares students for graduate education in various fields as well as for careers in government, politics, law, and a wide rang of other professional and managerial positions. The program helps students learn how policies are made and carried out. It also provides students with the knowledge and skills necessary to engage in political discourse as informed citizens.

The Department of Political Science offers a major leading to the Bachelor of Arts degree and a minor in the discipline. The department also supports minors in Asian Studies and in Policy and Ethics.

Students majoring in Political Science must choose at least one of the five areas of concentration: American Politics, International Studies, Law, Political Studies, and Public Administration. The internship program, a key element in the department’s offerings, features placements of 3-6 credits locally, in Boston, and in other locations across the state, and placements of 3-9 credits in Washington, D.C. (Washington Center internships). The department hosts three active clubs: the Political Science Club, the Law Club, and the International Relations Club. The department also sponsors a local chapter of the national honor society in Political Science, Pi Sigma Alpha.

* Washington Center internships are offered fore up to 15 credits. Students may apply 6 credits to the major, or 9 credits if they also enroll in a political science course offered by the Washington Center.

Required Major Core (12 credits)

Required Major Concentration (12-18 credits)

12 credits in the student’s field of concentration.

18 credits for students pursuing Law, Interdisciplinary Option or International Studies Interdisciplinary Option.

Required Electives (9-15 credits)

15 credits of additional political science coursework.

9 credits of additional Political Science coursework for students pursuring the Law Interdisciplinary Option or International Studies Interdisciplinary Option.


For Selected Topics courses (POLS 0323 ) to count toward the field of concentration, the courses must be within that field.

Students transferring from another school must complete a minimum of 18 credits in Political Science at Westfield State University.

The Department of Political Science encourages students to participate in internships. Students may apply up to 6 credits of internship toward the 36-credit major, 3 of which may be applied to the field of concentration. Up to 3 credits of internship may be applied toward the 18-credit minor. For details, see the department internship manual in the link or pick up a copy in the department.

Law, Interdisciplinary option concentration (18 credits)

Required Law Concentration Courses (12 credits)

Courses for students interested in preparing for law school and related legal careers, as well as graduate study in Political Science with a focus on public law. (12 credits: choose four)

Additional Courses (6 credits)

In addition to the four required courses under the Law concentration, choose two additional courses (6 credits) from the list below:

Additional Graduation Requirements

All students must meet the University Graduation Requirements  and complete a common core of studies, distributed among the different academic areas as detailed in the Common Core .

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Undergraduate Academic Departments and Programs