2023-2024 Graduate Catalog 
    Jun 23, 2024  
2023-2024 Graduate Catalog

Governance and Accreditation


The Graduate Education Council

Constituted in accordance with the Agreement between the Massachusetts Board of Higher Education and The Massachusetts Teachers Association/Massachusetts State College Association, the Graduate Education Council serves the university as the governance body charged with oversight of graduate programs and graduate curricula. The Graduate Education Council of Westfield State University reviews programs and proposals, reports and recommends changes of course requirements, addition of new courses, and the revision or retirement of existing courses within the graduate curricula. The Council is comprised of ten faculty members, three administrators and one graduate student. Council members listed below are continued in service through the current Massachusetts State College Association contract.

Graduate Education Council (2023-2024)
  Glen Brewster (English)
  Paul Cacolice (Sports Medicine and Human Performance)
  Charles DiStefano (Political Science)
  Shannon Gleason (Education)
  Paul Higgins (Sports Medicine and Human Performance) 
  Jennifer Hixon (Health Science)
  Megan Kennedy (Education)
  Sabine Klein (School of Education, Arts, Communication, and Humanities)
  Christopher Kudlac (Criminal Justice)
  Susan McDiarmid (Physician Assistant Studies)
  Jorge Reyes (Psychology)
  Jessica Tansey (Enrollment Management)
  CJ Van Wright (Social Work)
  Student Representative


Westfield State University is accredited by the New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) and the National Association of Schools of Music (NASM). The teacher licensure programs are accredited by the Association for Advancing Quality in Educator Preparation (AAQEP), and the Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education. The Athletic Training program is accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Athletic Training Education (CAATE). The Health Fitness program is accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP). The Social Work program is accredited by the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE). Westfield State University is designated as a Commonwealth of Massachusetts-accredited Emergency Medical Technician (EMT) training institution. The Computer Science program is accredited by the Computing Accreditation Commission (CAC) of Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology (ABET).  The baccalaureate in Nursing program is approved by the Massachusetts Board of Registration in Nursing and is accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education.



Northeastern Association of Graduate Schools, Association of Graduate Deans of Northeastern State Colleges, American Association of Colleges of Teacher Education, New England Conference on Graduate Education, The Council of Graduate Schools in the United States, the Association for Continuing Higher Education, Learning Resource Network, College Board Adult Learning Network and the Council on Adult and Experiential Learning.

Visit our web site @ http://www.westfield.ma.edu/dgce


Graduate and Continuing Education students are invited to participate in the governance process of the College through multiple committees. Usually appointments are made in the beginning of the fall semester. Students interested in volunteering should email graduate@westfield.ma.edu for additional information. Students must be in good academic standing, enrolled in a degree or certification program and be available days for the meetings.